I had a great day today.  It started a bit stressful, but it was full of events.  I invited a group of friends over to the house.  I am always a bit hesitant to invite people in the house, because I ……now I will have to word this correctly……well I have alot of nice things.  I don’t want anyone to think I am a snob or uppity by any means.  I just have a love for beautiful things.  I have travelled all over the world, and when I saw a bargain, I dove right in.  For example, all the Wedgewood and Villeroy & Boch stores in the military exchanges in Europe closed.  So I waited and waited, and when everything dropped in price, I bought.  Two china sets, several wine glass sets, and other goodies like Waterford lamps.  My whole life surrounded around my house, and making it look good.  I have alot of stuff.  Then in Turkey, I had alot of things built for me.  I would show them something in a Neiman catalogue and they would duplicate it.  My china cabinets, mirrors, sconces, etc…..I paid 1/4 of the price.  I was also lucky enough to be in Germany when the Berlin wall came down.  The east germans threw away alot of their furniture (antiques) as we know them, and the west germans (such as myself) bought them for less then you could only imagine.   I don’t go to restaurants, and I don’t own a cellphone, but I will buy for the house…….to make it a home.  I enjoy reading Southern Accents, Veranda and Better Homes and Garden.  I have monthly subscriptions to all three magazines.  I enjoy changing my rooms, both furniture and colors.  It is a passion of mine.  I have inherited this creativeness from my mom, who has always designed her interiors very nicely.   Of course, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and my taste is not the same as everyone else’s.  My point is that I had no children and did not expect to have any, so my money, my passion, and my love was completely dedicated to building a wonderful home for me and my husband.   I have glass tables with sharp edges, thank goodness, leather sofas, and lots of china.  Lots of little goodies that children love to break.  Lots of little goodies that I would never recommend anyone buy if they had kids.  I was able to teach my children at a very young age to not touch, and thank goodness nothing has been broken, but that could always change, and I expect it will.  Although my first love is no longer my home, every piece I own reminds me of a special memory, a special trip, and a different life.

So my friends walked in, and I immediately had to explain that noone has to take their shoes off, and yes we do touch everything.  I am trying to sound humbled, because it is a compliment when people appreciate my work.  I paint, I sew and buy things at yard sales (like my kitchen table – $10 solid oak and Made in Germany).  Most importantly, I never judge anyone by the house they live in, or whether there are curtains on the wall, or furniture in the rooms, so I hope the same holds true for me.

dsc00041

Louisiana

Louisiana

 

Mirror, Chair, Chest of Drawers - Made in Turkey

Mirror, Chair, Chest of Drawers - Made in Turkey

Well, once the girls looked at the house, we sat down and enjoyed a delicious strawberry shortcake, and I think everyone had a really nice time.   Afterwards, we took the children to a park, enjoyed pizza for lunch and sat in the sun and had fun.  Talking, laughing and telling stories like we always do.  It was a great day.  They are a special group of girls, and we all have alot in common.  We laugh alot together and I think that is great.  It has taken me a long time to find friends like this, and now that they are here, I am sure glad I found them.

I spent my evening helping another friend/neighbor decorate her bathroom.  It is fun.  She has a different taste then me, but I love to decorate, so thumbing through paint samples, mirrors and curtains is alot of fun.  I think her bathroom is going to look great when it is finished, and I cannot wait  for her to start.   I want to paint it myself.  

I am hoping to get some more sewing done tomorrow when I drop Olivia off at daycare again.  I am so looking forward to my next project.