I decided that I was missing a basic element for all of the Christmas outfits, and that was a blouse.  Once I decided on what I needed to do, my mind started to design a million different things.  However, one blouse always comes to mind when I think of special occasions and Holidays.  I bought a blouse in Munich right before I left the country to follow my dh to the USA.  I absolutely love it, and still treasure it 13 years later.  It belongs to a traditional german Trachtenkleid.  It has puffy peasant blouse sleeves, with lace  dangling over my wrists (2 layers), and the collar is also a 4 inch lace that is doubled.  The sleeves stick out from underneath the blazer, and the collar speaks for itself.  I decided I wanted to make some blouses just like that one.  Nothing too traditional, and yet nothing so fancy.

Jeffrey

Jeffrey is a pattern from Childrens Corner that has a traditional blouse pattern for both boys and girls.  The collar changes from round to straight edge, and the sleeves from puffy to boy sleeves, and from short to long.  The perfect blouse to start my project.

I have a ton of lace and embroidered swiss cotton edging that I collected during my travels through Turkey, Germany and Italy.  I knew I would find the perfect edging right in my own treasure chest, and viola so I

did.   Below is a sneak peek.  The pattern is very easy to put together.  The first change that needs to be implemented is a change in the seam allowance.  1/4″ seams don’t do very well, when you work with french seams.  I would prefer the s.a. to be 6/8″.  I added 4″ to the sleeve length, but 6″ would be better.  I also think a pleat should be added to the back to give the stomach more room.  Take the sleeve in at least 1.5 inches in the width.   The bias binding method that I like to use for the neckline is to fold the bias in half, and then stitch the open ends to the neckline.  That way when you turn the binding down, the folded part is all that you will see.  I used 1 1/4″, and it was too short.  Next time try a 2″ bias binding.