Mom's Jewish Apple Cake

Mom

Some Sundays are just perfect.  A german tradition that I love is to make dinner on Sunday afternoons around 1:00pm instead of in the evening.  Although, this sometimes leads to a hectic morning, the meal usually tastes better, and the afternoon is incredibly relaxing.  Today, I made Goulasch with noodles and fresh carrots.  For dessert, we had raspberries and strawberries, and they were delicious.  Then I made my mom’s Jewish Apple cake.  It is fantastic.  Of course, when you look at the ingredients, you have a heart attack, but it really is to die for.  No matter who tastes some of this cake they always want the recipe.

Jewish Apple Cake

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup oil
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 cup frozen orange juice concentrate
  • 4-5 apples with cinnamon

Mix first seven ingredients above together. Core and peel apples and slice thinly. Preheat oven to 360 degrees. Fill molded cake pan (greased and floured) in layers beginning w/ cake mixture, apple slices and cinnamon (approx. 3 to 4 layers each). Bake for 60-75 minutes.  Insert a  knife, and when it comes out clean, then the cake is done.

I am taking a video tutorial on Photoshop, so please excuse my frames, and scrapbooking layouts.  It is alot of fun, learning everything this program is capable of doing.  In the meantime, it helps me prepare some of my pictures for my Etsy shop.  I am sure I will get better as time goes on.  I actually like the pictures less cluttered.  I will get it sooner then later.