I purchased this pattern a while ago, and thought it would be perfect for the Christmas dress I wanted to make.  On Saturday I ran around town  trying to find a few more perfect choice Christmas fabrics that I thought I could use in this pattern.  I love the christmas fabrics, but not necessarily for little girl dresses.  Personal choice.  I am a bit more conservative in my taste.  I like the elegant italian style clothing.  Classic, Elegant and most importantly timeless.  Some would call it boring, but I call it gorgeous.  I wanted a Christmas dress that was a little Christmassy and a little classic in style. 

I had to chop up the pattern a bit, so I made a ton of mistakes on the way.  For instance, I added the zipper before adding the lining.  I could not turn it inside out, so I had to remove the zipper and apply it again.  Then I forgot to add the ribbon before I hand sewed the lining on the inside.  Yippee!  I was not happy about that one either.  It was almost as if I had forgotten how to sew in the last five weeks.  The fabric I used was a red corduroy and a Christmas fabric from the Debbie Mumm collection.  I decided to call this a “Make your own design” type of dress, and include a few other choice fabrics that can be used.

Other then that, we have friends here in town.  Wendy and Jon are visiting his family, who are from Pensacola.  I know that sounds unbelievable.  Wendy and I met in 1984 in Munich, Germany where I was going to college.  Then she went back to the US and came back to visit me in Munich, while her parents were still there.  She was my maid of Honor at my wedding in California, and now we have been able to see each other every year since we moved to Florida.  She now has two kids too!  She is a dear friend, and I am so glad that we have been able to keep our friendship after so many years.

Nicolas got a full set of golf clubs from Grandpa Bill and Grandma Carolyn.  He could not wait to test drive them with Daddy this weekend.  Lance said he did very well, and listened to everything Daddy said.  He had alot of fun, and wanted to go again on Sunday, which they did.  I am so proud of my little boy for not whining, and sticking to it.  Not his usual tactics.